Windy City Poker Championship Series Results are In

Winner Take All Table'Twas quite a weekend for Chicago Poker.  Those of you who read regularly, or follow us on Facebook, or on Twitter, know that this past weekend featured the Main Event Charity Games Deep Stack Event, along with the Heads Up Championship, and "Winner Take All" invitational.  These three events generated crowds of hundreds of poker players, and tens of thousands of dollars in cash and prizes.

Local poker enthusiasts, including Richard Roeper, movie critic, TV personality, and co-host of WLS-AM's The Roe Conn Show with Richard Roeper, were joined by 2007 WSOP Main Event winner Jerry Yang, current WPT Player of the Year, Faraz Jaka (a Chicago resident), Mark "Poker Ho" Kroon, WPT Boot Camp instructor Nick Brancato, St. Louis News Anchor Larry Conners (KMOV Channel 4), and our good buddy and new favorite blogger Scotty Clark.

Over the next couple of weeks, we'll share stories, pictures, and results from the series, beginning with this gallery of the Deep Stack final table competitors.


Leonid Sagalovsky Dee Korycki Steven Pedlow Michael Sabbia

Kevin Boyd

Ted Leahy

Jerry Ulrich

Leroy Carver

And the Deep Stack winner?  Nearly $15,000 in cash and prizes went to....


Michael Sabbia - our Day 1 chip leader went wire-to-wire!  After an intense head's up battle with Georgia native, and the creator of our featured table, Ted Leahy - Michael Sabbia took his pocket fours to battle, flopping a set, and taking it down.